Artistry

The art history class I took in college changed me!

It opened my eyes to things that every person should, in their lifetime, see. There are periods in art that I’m not very fond of, but then you get to periods like impressionism and literally the sun comes out, the wind whips your hair, the birds sing and you are immersed! Mom recognized that these classes for me opened up a deep love of art and thus as a Christmas present one year she bought me a membership to the Denver Art Museum with the stipulation that I take her to the amazing impressionist show that was scheduled.

Art, since then, has been something that I consistently shared with Mom.  Dad has come into his since he and Lindsay went to Tanzania in 2007. On their return trip they stayed in Amsterdam and went to the Van Gogh museum. I think that is when Dad found art. So as I was surfing my daily blogs today I was lead to this amazing video created by Philip Scott Johnson, a digital artist from St. Louis, MO. He has taken self portraits created by Van Gogh and morphed them into a video. Van Gogh created some 37 self portraits between 1886 and 1889. The video is a really neat look at the way he saw himself and though things, surroundings, his look change, his eyes never do. Have a look!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

