For The Love of Pumpkin

Ask not what your Pumpkin can do for you, ask what you can do for your pumpkin!

There is a milestone every year for me that goes something like this: the pumpkin latte has returned to Starbucks for fall! It’s silly I realize but this marks the closing of the glorious summer months and the start of the snowy shitty slush covered, freeze your ass off fall and winter months. We see where my devotion lies. Needless to say we see a return of all things pumpkin and this makes me very happy. I realize, pumpkin is available year round however this year that was not the case. Finding a can of pumpkin was a bit of a hit or miss and miss was the more prevalent of the two options. Now that I can walk into a store and pick up a can at any moment all is right in the world.

Mom and I have been planning our Thanksgiving Brunch Extravaganza and for one of the dishes I suggested making a pumpkin butter to go with it and Mom agreed that it would be a fine addition. I started looking around for recipes that struck my pumpkin fancy. True to form I decided to combine 2 recipes to make it my own.

So while Granny was at church yesterday and my chili was bubbling away I decided to go ahead and make up a batch. Words cannot describe my taste bud elation! The resulting butter is smooth and shiny and has wonderful deep spicy notes. Essentially I would love nothing more than to swim in a vat of it with a side of pancakes, waffles, toast or any other delicious carbohydrate item I can lay hands on! While telling Granny about it a look of skepticism came over her face. I was worried to about how she would receive it, spices are not something she loves alot of and this has a powerful spice punch. We made waffles for dinner and I pulled the jar out of the fridge, popped the lid and dabbed a small blob on her waffle. Granny had this to say, “I really like it. I love it, even.” Triumph!

Pumpkin Butter

Original recipe found here on Allrecipes.com
and modified be me

1/2 t nutmeg
1 t ground ginger
2 t cinnamon
1/2 ground cloves
pinch of ground allspice
3/4 c apple juice
1 can (29 oz) pumpkin puree (plain without spice mix)
1/2 c sugar
1/2 c loosely filled dark brown sugar or light brown with 1 t molasses

Mix all ingredients in a saucepan that has a good fitting lid. Bring to boil. Reduce heat and simmer 30 minutes until thickened.

This made about 4 1/2 to 5 cups and I canned mine in sterilized jars and immersed them in a hot water bath to seal them. If you don’t want to go the canning route I would suggest keeping it in the refrigerator no more than two weeks (which would not be a problem for me but I am going to assume some of you have self control!)

  1. #1 by Mom on November 15, 2010 - 7:32 pm

    This looks wonderful and I can’t wait to try it on Thanksgiving!!!

Leave a Reply

