Sometimes it’s a Pain in the Thumb

As it turns out, I won’t be hitchhiking any time soon.

I know, my life long goal as a highway vagabond have been dashed by a case of tenosynovitis. That is an inflammation of the lining of the sheath that surrounds a tendon (the cord that joins muscle to bone). Or as I like to call it, a real pain in the thumb. It popped up a little more than a week ago. I have had trouble with my left hand earlier this year; my middle finder had an achy joint that was being aggravated by the way I washed my hands and applied lotion. I changed the way I did both and the pain went away. I figured I was doing some other repetitive thing that was causing this too so I went to see my chiropractor and he adjusted it, not seeing anything but a mildly stuck finger that showed better movement after the adjustment. I went back two days later cause it was still just not in a happy place.

This past weekend was my last big chance to get my Christmas presents made so with very tender hand I pushed through and got the most of it done. I had been dosing with ibuprofen and I noticed that that has stopped helping and I think I pushed it too far because as of yesterday morning I had some pretty substantial pain going on when I tried to clamp my thumb and index finger together to pick anything up. You know that sort of pain that just bites ya and sort of startles you with how bad it hurts? The kind that takes your breath away? Well that was my hand.

Now in my great wisdom I did what any smart girl would do, I called Mom to bitch and moan about my ailing thumb. She said I should come in to the office and see the other doc since mine was on some selfish trip to Canada for the next 10 days. What the hell, does he think it is Christmas time or something? I did as mom said and went in for a brutal adjustment and some very focused Graston. (Graston Technique® is an innovative, patented form of instrument-assisted soft tissue mobilization that enables clinicians to effectively break down scar tissue and fascial restrictions. The Technique utilizes specially designed stainless steel instruments to specifically detect and effectively treat areas exhibiting soft tissue fibrosis or chronic inflammation). In other words a specialized device to inflict massive amounts of tortuous pain on my poor already painful hand. I held it together though and did not cry! Next up Kinesio tape. This basically immobilizes my thumb and makes me very aware of when I am moving it and not letting me push it too far. And because I’m weird of course I had to go with flying skulls, hello I’m a fashion plate after all!  So Merry Christmas to me…yet another bizarre thing to happen to me. Someday it would be nice to just get a regular cold or a splinter, ya know?

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

