Pumpkin Madness

Each year, the Great Pumpkin rises out of the pumpkin patch that he thinks is the most sincere. He’s gotta pick this one. He’s got to. I don’t see how a pumpkin patch can be more sincere than this one. You can look around and there’s not a sign of hypocrisy. Nothing but sincerity as far as the eye can see.

I remember as a child being so excited for Halloween and everything that comes along with it. Halloween sort of indicates that it’s time to roll out all things pumpkin. Gran made a pumpkin dessert last week that was ooey and gooey and I’m not sure what it was but the little piece I had was quite good. Yesterday I had a hankering for pumpkin cake. I however didn’t have a recipe and I’m not the best baker in the family. I went to the internet and instead of rifling through the gazillion recipes I went and looked at pictures. I was looking for something specific, a cake of a certain color. I landed on one and we had everything need to make it in the house so I went for it. It turned out great! The cake is light and fluffy and has just the perfect amount of spice to it. It also dons a crumble top that I did with white sugar, flour and butter though I can see now I should have used brown. Still it’s the perfect amount of sweet and the crumble adds just the right amount of crunch. I thought I would just share it up since it was completely delicious!

Pumpkin Cake with Crumble Top

Cake:
2 eggs
½ and ⅓ c sugar
½ c oil
1 c pumpkin
1 c flour
1 t cinnamon
1 t pumpkin pie spice (I made my own using ¾ t cinnamon, ¼ t ground ginger and a healthy pinch ground cloves)
½ t salt
½ t baking soda

Topping:
½ c flour
¼ c sugar (white or brown)
¼ c butter
Dash cinnamon

Heat oven to 350°. Spray a 9 inch pan. Using and electric mixer at medium speed, combine eggs, sugar, oil, and pumpkin until light and fluffy. Stir together the flour, cinnamon, spice, salt and soda. Add the dry ingredients to the pumpkin mixture at low speed until thoroughly combined and the batter is smooth. Pour the batter into pan.

Mix the topping ingredients until coarse crumbs form. Cover the entire top of the cake with the topping. Bake for 30 minutes.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment